Nubank Launches in the U.S. With a 3.50% Account, 1.5% Cashback Card, and a Charter That's Not Final Yet

Nubank Just Entered the U.S. Banking Market. Here's the Rate Detail Almost Every Headline Missed.

By Luiz Carlos Silva · Published September 10, 2026 · Fintech · Banking · Personal Finance · 9 min read


Nubank U.S. banking launch 2026 with 4.50% APY high-yield savings account, 1.5% cashback credit card, international transfers and multi-currency banking

Illustrative image to be generated for Smart Travel Finance. Not affiliated with Nu Holdings, Nubank, or Lead Bank.

Nubank, the Brazilian digital bank with more than 140 million customers across Latin America, launched its first U.S. banking products on September 10, 2026. The headline number everyone's repeating is 3.50%. Nu's own fine print says something more interesting, and a regulatory letter obtained separately shows the company's actual U.S. bank charter comes with an unusual condition nobody's reported yet.

Key Takeaways
  • Nubank launched U.S. banking products on September 10, 2026, through FDIC-insured partner Lead Bank: a savings account, a no-annual-fee credit card, and fee-free international remittances
  • The advertised "3.50% APY" is actually the base rate; Nu's own posted terms show a conditional 4.50% APY on balances up to $10,000 for customers who hold both a Nu Account and Nu Credit Card with 3+ eligible card transactions in the trailing 34 days, a distinction most syndicated coverage flattened into a single number
  • Nubank's own national bank charter, "Nubank, National Association," received only preliminary conditional approval from the OCC in January 2026, and remains subject to Federal Reserve and FDIC review; Nu expects to operate under its own charter sometime in 2027
  • The OCC's own approval letter, reviewed directly for this article, waived the director residency requirement for 4 of Nubank's 5 proposed directors and the director citizenship requirement for 2 of 5, a detail not reported elsewhere
  • Nubank also launched "Nu Global," a separate multi-currency account paying 3.5% on dollar balances and 2.2% on euro balances, supporting fee-free transfers across more than 35 countries and letting users trade select cryptocurrencies including Bitcoin and Ethereum
  • Nubank says it expects the U.S. business to take "a number of years" to become profitable, noting its Brazil operation took eight years to reach profitability
The Launch, At A Glance
Launch Date
Sept 10, 2026
Bank Partner
Lead Bank (FDIC)
Top Rate
4.50% APY*
Own Charter Status
Conditional Only

Nubank (NYSE: NU), the Brazilian digital bank that has built more than 140 million customers across Brazil, Mexico, and Colombia over 13 years, announced on September 10, 2026 that it would begin offering financial products in the United States. CEO David Vélez and Nubank's U.S. co-founder and CEO Cristina Junqueira unveiled the launch during an event in Miami. The initial lineup: a high-yield savings account, a no-annual-fee credit card, and fee-free international money transfers, all delivered through Nu's FDIC-insured U.S. bank partner, Lead Bank.

The Rate Detail Most Coverage Simplified Away

Reuters and most outlets that picked up the story reported a flat "3.50% yield." Nu's own official press release tells a more specific story: the Nu Account pays 4.50% APY on balances up to $10,000, but only for customers who hold both a Nu Account and a Nu Credit Card with three or more eligible card transactions in the trailing 34 days. Without meeting that condition, or on any balance above $10,000, the rate is 3.50% APY. Nu's own terms also state the rate is variable and can change at any time, including after account opening, and that no minimum balance is required to earn either rate.

ScenarioRate Nu Actually Pays
Nu Account + Nu Credit Card, 3+ transactions in 34 days, balance ≤ $10,0004.50% APY
Conditions above not met, any balance3.50% APY
Any balance above $10,000, regardless of card usage3.50% APY
SMART FINANCE · RATE REALITY CHECK

What Would the 4.50% vs. 3.50% Difference Mean for Your Money?

The headline rate is only part of the story. Enter your balance below and see how the two APY tiers compare using the rate structure described by Nu as of September 10, 2026.

$

Enter any amount. The 4.50% conditional tier described in this article applies only to balances of $10,000 or less.

Do you have both the Nu Account and Nu Credit Card?
Have you made 3+ eligible card transactions in the trailing 34 days?
YOUR ESTIMATED ANNUAL RESULT
4.50%
Estimated APY based on the information you entered
At your applicable rate $450
At 3.50% APY $350
Annual difference +$100
Based on these inputs, the balance qualifies for the conditional 4.50% APY tier described in the article.
THE RULE BEHIND THE NUMBER
4.50% APY Balance ≤ $10,000 + Nu Account + Nu Credit Card + 3+ eligible transactions in the trailing 34 days.
3.50% APY Applies when the conditions are not met, or when the balance is above $10,000.

Educational estimate only. Annual earnings are calculated using the stated APY as a simple comparison and do not represent a guaranteed return. Nu's rate is variable and may change at any time. This tool does not determine actual account eligibility and is not affiliated with Nu Holdings, Nubank, or Lead Bank.

Rate structure per Nu's own official press release (nu.com), accurate as stated by Nu as of September 10, 2026. Rates are variable and subject to change per Nu's own posted terms; this article does not represent these figures as fixed or guaranteed.

A Second Product Most Headlines Left Out: Nu Global

Alongside the domestic account, Nubank also introduced "Nu Global," a separate multi-currency account aimed at people managing money across borders. According to Nu's own release, Nu Global pays 3.5% annual yield on dollar-denominated balances and 2.2% on euro-denominated balances, and supports fee-free transfers across more than 35 countries, initially concentrated in Europe and Latin America. The account also lets users trade select cryptocurrencies, including Bitcoin and Ethereum. Vélez framed it as a response to "borderless lives," where managing money across multiple apps, currencies, and fee structures is a common friction point, rather than as a conventional new-market banking license in each country Nu Global reaches.

The Credit Card, Briefly

The Nu Credit Card carries no annual fee and offers 1.5% cashback, with the potential to reach 2% under certain conditions Nu has not fully detailed in the sources reviewed for this article. Nu also introduced a limited-edition metal card option, per additional reporting from PYMNTS.

What "Conditional Approval" From the OCC Actually Means

Nubank's plan to eventually operate as its own federally chartered bank in the U.S. — "Nubank, National Association," proposed for McLean, Virginia — received preliminary conditional approval from the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency in a letter dated February 2026, referencing an application filed under OCC Control Number 2025-Charter-343355. That approval is explicitly preliminary. The OCC's own letter states plainly that final approval and authorization for the bank to actually commence business will not be granted until all pre-opening requirements are met, and that until then, the OCC retains the right to modify, suspend, or rescind the conditional approval entirely.

⚠ A Detail No Other Coverage Reported

The OCC's approval letter also granted two specific waivers tied to Nubank's board structure: a waiver of the standard director residency requirement for four of Nubank's five proposed directors, and a waiver of the director citizenship requirement for two of the five. Neither the letter excerpt reviewed for this article nor any news coverage identified specifically names which directors these waivers apply to, and this article does not speculate on their identities. It's presented here simply as a factual, publicly-relevant detail of how a foreign-headquartered fintech's U.S. bank charter application was structured and approved, a level of regulatory detail that doesn't typically make it into launch-day coverage.

In practical terms, this means the bank operating under Nubank's own name and full charter doesn't exist yet in the U.S. Everything customers can sign up for today, the savings account, the credit card, remittances, runs through Lead Bank's existing charter and FDIC insurance, not through Nubank's own banking license. Junqueira said at the Miami event that she expects Nubank's own bank to begin operating "next year," meaning the partner-bank model is intended as a bridge, not the permanent structure.

Charter Status
Preliminary Only
OCC can still modify, suspend, or rescind before final approval
Still Pending
Fed + FDIC Review
Required before Nubank's own charter can operate
Director Waivers
4 of 5 (Residency), 2 of 5 (Citizenship)
Per the OCC's own approval letter
Target Timeline
2027
Nu's own stated expectation for its own charter going live

Why Nubank Is Starting With Young Consumers and Hispanic Households

Vélez told Reuters that access to banking in the U.S. is broadly better than in Latin America, where large populations were unbanked or underbanked for years, but noted that millions of Americans still have restricted access to credit or rely on high-fee financial products. Nubank's initial U.S. targeting reflects that: younger consumers already comfortable with digital-first banking, and the U.S. Hispanic population, a group Vélez suggested is more likely to already recognize the Nubank brand from its presence in Brazil, Mexico, and Colombia. The strategy is organic growth first, though Vélez said the company remains open to acquisitions that could accelerate its U.S. expansion.

What This Article Is Not Saying

This is not a recommendation to open a Nubank, Nu, or Lead Bank account, and it is not investment advice regarding Nu Holdings (NYSE: NU) stock. The 4.50%/3.50% rate structure described here reflects Nu's own posted terms as of September 10, 2026, is explicitly variable per Nu's own language, and could change at any time, including after an account is opened. This article does not name or speculate on the identities of the specific Nubank board directors who received residency or citizenship waivers from the OCC, since that information was not available in the materials reviewed. Nubank's own national bank charter is not yet operational and remains subject to further federal regulatory review; nothing here should be read as confirmation that charter will ultimately be granted in full.

Visual Illustration: Understanding Nubank's U.S. Entry

This original illustration is based on the themes discussed in this article. It is for educational and illustrative purposes only and is not an official Nu Holdings, Nubank, or Lead Bank graphic.


Nubank U.S. banking launch 2026 comic showing 4.50% APY savings account, 3.50% base rate, credit card cashback, OCC conditional bank charter and Nu Global

Illustrative graphic to be created for Smart Travel Finance. Based on the themes discussed in this article; not an official Nu Holdings, Nubank, or Lead Bank graphic.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is my money at Nubank actually FDIC-insured right now?

Yes, through Nubank's U.S. partner, Lead Bank, which Nu's own materials describe as FDIC-insured. Nubank itself does not yet operate its own federally chartered U.S. bank.

Is the interest rate really 4.50%, or is it 3.50%?

Both figures are real but apply to different situations. 4.50% APY applies only to balances up to $10,000 when a customer holds both a Nu Account and a Nu Credit Card with at least 3 eligible card transactions in the trailing 34 days. Otherwise, or on balances above $10,000, the rate is 3.50% APY. The rate is variable and can change at any time.

Does Nubank have its own U.S. bank charter yet?

No. It received only preliminary conditional approval from the OCC in January/February 2026 for a proposed national bank, "Nubank, National Association." Final approval requires additional Federal Reserve and FDIC review, and the OCC can still modify, suspend, or rescind the conditional approval before that happens.

What is Nu Global?

A separate multi-currency account Nubank launched alongside its main U.S. products, paying 3.5% on dollar balances and 2.2% on euro balances, supporting fee-free transfers across more than 35 countries, and allowing trading of select cryptocurrencies including Bitcoin and Ethereum.

Who is Nubank targeting first in the U.S.?

Nubank said it's initially focused on younger, digitally-oriented consumers and the U.S. Hispanic population, citing existing brand familiarity from its operations in Brazil, Mexico, and Colombia.

Interactive · Not Financial Advice

Did You Catch the Fine Print Behind the Rate?

Answer 6 quick questions about how you'd read a new bank product launch like this one. This is a reflection tool to help you think through the story, not a recommendation to open any account.

1. A headline advertising "3.50% APY" that turns out to have a higher conditional tier feels like...
Worth reading the actual terms before assuming the flat number applies to you Probably close enough to the real deal either way Not something I'd check further
2. A company's own bank charter being "preliminary conditional approval," not final, should make you...
Understand the difference before assuming the company already runs its own bank Assume it's basically the same as final approval Not think it matters much either way
3. Finding a genuinely new detail (like a regulatory waiver) that no other outlet reported should make a writer...
Report it carefully and factually, without over-speculating about who it involves Guess at extra details to make the story feel bigger Leave it out since no one else reported it
4. A savings rate explicitly labeled "variable, may change at any time" should be treated as...
A snapshot of today's rate, not a locked-in promise Basically guaranteed for as long as you keep the account Not something worth double-checking later
5. A new banking product using an FDIC-insured partner bank, rather than its own charter, should prompt you to...
Understand which entity actually holds and insures your deposits Assume it works exactly the same as any other bank Not think about the underlying structure at all
6. If you were comparing this account to your current bank, what would you check first?
The actual conditions required to earn the top rate, not just the headline number Just the advertised top rate Whatever felt most convenient to sign up for
0%

This tool reflects your own reasoning back to you for educational purposes only. It does not represent Nu Holdings, Nubank, or Lead Bank, and is not a recommendation to open any account.

Play the Million Dollar Finance Quiz Million Dollar Finance Quiz studio

MILLION DOLLAR FINANCE QUIZ

16 QUESTIONS • 1 MILLION VIRTUAL DOLLARS • PLAY FREE

▶ PLAY GAME
Sources and methodology: This article is based on Reuters reporting by Tatiana Bautzer and Andre Romani, published September 10, 2026, Nu's own official press release (nu.com/en/newsroom), and a February 2026 Office of the Comptroller of the Currency conditional approval letter (Control Numbers 2025-Charter-343355, 2025-Waiver-344581, 2025-Waiver-344582) reviewed directly for this article. Cross-checked against independent coverage from PYMNTS, CryptoBriefing, and ColombiaOne. The director residency and citizenship waiver details, and the precise 4.50%/3.50% rate tiering, were not reported in the Reuters wire coverage and are drawn directly from the OCC letter and Nu's own press release respectively.
Disclaimer: This article is for informational and educational purposes only and does not constitute financial or investment advice, and is not a recommendation to open any account or purchase any security, including Nu Holdings (NYSE: NU) stock. Smart Travel Finance is not affiliated with Nu Holdings, Nubank, or Lead Bank. Rates, terms, and conditions described are as stated by Nu as of September 10, 2026, are explicitly variable per Nu's own terms, and are subject to change at any time.
About | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact

© 2026 Finance Tools. All rights reserved.